Skip to Content

HomeBase Pathway Communities

May 14, 2020

two hands typing on a laptop HomeBase Pathway Communities

American River College formed an implementation team at the beginning of 2020 to guide development of HomeBase pathway communities. The team has spent the past four months collaborating, thinking about, and re-envisioning our pathway communities. 

The COVID 19 crisis has shifted our planning focus to Virtual HomeBases. These virtual spaces will connect students, develop relationships, and build community. This process has given the HomeBase team a powerful sense of hope and excitement - which we think you will share as you learn more! Please take three minutes to watch the following video from the team:  

You can see the implementation plan as a PDF document.

A HomeBase pathway community is a dedicated, welcoming space where students in a particular major or area of interest can get the support they need to complete their academic program while also enjoying a sense of community and belonging. Each HomeBase will be a partnership between instruction and student services and will feature:

  • Personalized major, career, and transfer assistance
  • Organized by area(s) of interest/programs of study
  • Depth of discipline-specific expertise
  • Much more 

HomeBase Team 

Frank Kobayashi, Vice President of Instruction, Co-Chair HomeBase Implementation Team
Jeff Stephenson, Vice President of Student Services, Co-Chair HomeBase Implementation Team
Alisa Shubb, Speech Faculty, Academic Senate President
Chad Funk, Associate Vice President of Student Services
Cheri Jones, Consultant
Derrick Booth, Interim Associate Vice President of Workforce Development
Jazzie Murphy, Assistant Dean, First Year Experience (Achieve) & Pathway Communities
Jennifer Laflam, Co-chair, English Department, Director, Center for Teaching and Learning
Kale Braden, Associate Vice President of Learning Resources
Kate Jaques, Associate Vice President of Instruction
Marsha Reske, Dean of Virtual Center
Nick Daily, Interim Dean of Equity and Inclusion
Olga Prizhbilov, SPA, Classified Senate President
Reyna Moore, Counselor, Department Chair of Counseling
Scott Crow, Public Information Officer

Related Links