Curriculum Committee

The Curriculum Committee is a subcommittee of the Academic Senate.

The committee meets Wednesdays from 3 to 5pm in the ITC Training Room. The committee accomplishes many of its functions through a set of subcommittees, including Tech Review, General Education, and Distance Education.

Committee Functions

  • Review curriculum proposals concerning new course offerings, course revisions, and course deletions proposed by academic departments. Recommend and forward course proposals that meet college, district, and state curriculum criteria.
  • Review curriculum proposals concerning new program offerings, program revisions, and program deletions proposed by academic departments. Recommend and forward program proposals that meet college, district, and state curriculum criteria.
  • Provide two-way communication with staff concerning issues, programs, and opportunities relating to ARC's curriculum.
  • Review the ARC graduation requirements, including competency requirements the CSU and UC transfer patterns, and the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC).
  • Monitor the college program review process and provide a sounding board for departmental reports.
  • Review and monitor the development, implementation, and assessment of Title V and matriculation-related pre- and co-requisites.
  • Review ARC Extension curriculum proposals.
  • Review the college's long-range educational programs and services as described in the Educational Master Plan.
  • Develop curriculum processes and activities that align the college with regional and national accrediting standards.

Curriculum Committee

Committee ChairValarie Rose

The Curriculum Committee consists of 24 members. Voting members (20) are distributed as follows:

  • 13 faculty (one from each instructional area, including Library and Learning Resources and Counseling and Student Services, with one Vice-Chair to be selected from these faculty representatives)
  • 1 articulation officer
  • 1 distance education coordinator
  • 1 student
  • 1 Vice-President of Instruction (or designee)
  • 1 Associate Vice-President of Economic and Workforce Development
  • 1 management representative from the Student Services division
  • 1 management representative from an instructional division

Non-voting members include:

  • 1 faculty chair, appointed by Academic Senate (may cast a tie-breaking vote)
  • 1 faculty past chair
  • 1 Associate Vice-President of Instruction
  • 1 Curriculum Instructional Services Assistant